Punjab Legislative Assembly

Latest News

Finance Minister Manpreet Singh Badal hands over debate records of legislative Assembly of Combined East and West Punjab to Speaker Rana KP Singh
Punjab Finance Minister Mr Manpreet Singh Badal on Tuesday handed over the debate records of legislative assembly of Combined Punjab (East and West) to Speaker Rana KP Singh. During an impressive function at Speaker’s office, the debate records in 43 volumes from March 23, 1937 to March 3, 1947 received by Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speaker Rana KP Singh from Finance Minister Mr. Manpreet Singh Badal. These historical documents would be kept at Library of Vidhan Sabha. Speaking at the function, the Speaker Rana KP Singh said that before independence, the assembly was representing the people of combined Punjab and these documents have huge historical importance. He stated that this record would provide help to the researchers who are interested to study about various fields of combined Punjab before the independence. He added the debate records would also give a glimpse of circumstances that took place in an undivided India. The Speaker appreciated the efforts of Finance Minister Mr Manpreet Singh Badal for collecting these highly historical valued documents. Disclosing about the efforts, the Finance Minister Mr. Manpreet Singh Badal informed how he had arranged the photocopies of records from Pakistan. He informed that the documents comprise debate on various bills which will offer information about freedom struggle. He said that copies of the record will be given to Haryana Legislative Assembly and National Archives of India too. He informed that all these documents are in English because before independence all proceedings of vidhan sabha were recorded in English only. The Minister also lauded the effort of IAS officer Mr. Ravinder Kumar Kaushik in collecting these documents. On this occasion, Deputy Speaker Mr Ajaib Singh Bhatti, Mr Sukhwinder Singh Randhawa, Mr Rakesh Pandey, Mr Amrik Singh Dhillon, Mr Nathu Ram, Mr Darshan Lal, Mr Surjit Singh Dhiman, Mr Raj Kumar Chabbewal, Prof. Baljinder Kaur, Mr Aman Arora, Mr Baldev Singh, Mr Amarjeet Singh and Mr Manjit Singh Bilaspur (All MLAs), Assembly secretary Mrs Shashi Lakhanpal Mishra and Speaker’s PS to Speaker Mr Ramlok were also present.