Punjab Legislative Assembly

Latest News

– BOOK “ANTI DEFECTION LAW” WOULD BE USEFUL ADDITION TO LITERATURE IN POLITICAL SCIENCE AND LAW- RANA K.P. SINGH Punjab Vidhan Sabha Speaker Rana K.P. Singh today released a book titled “Anti Defection Law” penned by Senior IPS officer Mr. Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh in his office. The writer of the book is a scholar of Constitutional and Criminal law and Doctorate in Police Administration. Rana K.P. Singh said that Anti Defection law is an important facet of Parliamentary Democracy of India. He congratulated the author and said that this book would be useful addition to literature in Political Science and Law relating to Parliamentary Democracy. “It is not easy task to write on such complex topics of fundamental Constitutional issues. I appreciate his efforts to bring such difficult issues in a very simple manner for the benefit of common citizens as well as for the law professionals” he added. He further said that Mr. Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh is equally at ease with pen and uniform. “I wish him all success for carrying his literary works” Speaker said. Giving details about the book, Mr. Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh said that there are many confusions and misnomers on Anti Defection Law in the mind of common citizens. He said that as a student of Constitutional law, it is my endeavour to present complex and complicated issues in a simple and easy way. “I have tried my best to simplify the core intricacies of anti-defection law. For the purpose of clarity, another important topic ‘office of profit’ has been briefly appended to this book, as this topic is largely associated with disqualification provisions” he added. It is pertinent to mention that Mr. Kunwar Vijay Pratap Singh is Ph.D from GNDU Amritsar and LLB from Panjab University, Chandigarh. Prominent amongst others present on the occasion included cabinet ministers Mr. Navjot Singh Sidhu and Mr. Sadhu Singh Dharmsot, Punjab Vidhan Sabha Deputy Speaker Mr. Ajaib Singh Bhatti, Dr. Raj Kumar Verka, Mr. Surinder Dabar, Dr. Dharambir Agnihotri, Mr. Darshan Lal, Mr. Sunil Datti, Prof. Baljinder Kaur, Mr. Najar Singh Manshahia (All MLAs) and Mr. Jugal Kishor Sharma ex-MLA.